The 2015 IZA Prize in Labor Economics goes to Jan Švejnar, the  founder and director of IDEA and chairman of the Executive and Supervisory Committee of CERGE-EI in Prague. He was recognized for his work on economic issues in labor market, development and the transition from socialist to market economies.

Previous recipients of the Prize have included Professors Orley Ashenfelter, David Card, Alan Krueger, Dale Mortensen, Christopher Pissarides (the last two are also laureates of Nobel prize for Economic Sciences), and Columbia University’s Jacob Mincer, the first Prize recipient who is considered by many to be the father of modern labor economics.

See quotes from famous economists marking the recognition here